Maulana Fazl calls PDM summit meeting on Monday to mull over causes of defeat

Maulana Fazlur Rehman

Maulana Fazlur Rehman, Mian Nawaz Sharif and Asif Ali Zardari have made telephonic contacts among them after PDM defeat in the Senate polls for the slots of chairman and Deputy chairman and Maulana Fazl has convened PDM summit meeting on Monday.

Sources said the three leaders during their telephonic conversation have expressed resolve to reach the causes which have led to the defeat of PDM candidates in senate polls for the slot of chairman and deputy chairman.

Sources revealed that the three have agreed on watch the movement of opposition senators closely affiliated with Sadiq Sanjrani besides taking stern action in the event of deviation from the PDM decisions.

According to sources Maulana Fazl got enraged over the defeat of Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haidri saying how the votes in the election of chairman senate were rejected and how these votes were polled in favor of ruling alliance candidate for the slot of deputy chairman senate.

Maulana Fazl said the long march will bear no fruit unless the resignations are tendered. We will have to resort to the people now and advance to the final phase.

On the other hand PDM chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman has called PDM summit meeting on Monday. The meeting has been convened on the demand of PPP to mull over the causes leading to the defeat in Senate polls besides evolving future strategy.


Sources said PPP have reservations on allied parties over the rejection of seven votes. How these 7 votes proved correct in the election for the slot of deputy chairman. PPP have reservations over certain senators of PML-N and JUI-F. Why the votes of our 7 senators were rejected while the ruling party votes remained intact.

PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardar made immediate contact with Maulana Fazlur Rehman and informed him about his reservations. He also demanded for calling PDM summit meeting forthwith.

Maulana Fazlur Rehman too are enraged over defeat of JUI-F candidate for slot of deputy chairman of senate despite the fact that no vote was rejected.